Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Mayor & Council Members

Mayor

Barbara A. Schlegel
Term expires 2026
Email:   mayor@catasauqua.org 
 
The primary responsibility of the Mayor is overseeing the day-to-day operations of the police department. In addition, the Mayor has the power to administer oaths in matters pertaining to Borough affairs. The Mayor may also marry people.
 
When necessary to protect the public safety, the mayor can also issue emergency proclamations.  The most common is the snow emergency declaration.

Council Members

Borough Council has the power to enact ordinances and resolutions, authorize expenditures of Borough funds, enter into and ratify contracts and agreements, set the policy and goals for the borough, and all related tasks.

Council, through its committee system, reviews and considers citizen requests and input, plans programs and services for the general welfare and benefit of all residents, and works with the administration to develop recommendations. The committees report to the entire body of Council, which then acts on the recommendation.

Members of Council do not have individual offices in Borough Hall. Mail for each, or all, of them can be addressed to 90 Bridge St. Catasauqua, PA 18032. 

Brian Bartholomew, Council President
Term Expires 2024
bartholomew@catasauqua.org

Howard Cunningham, Council Vice President – Chair – Public Safety Committee
Term expires 2026
hcunningham@catasauqua.org

Eugene Schlegel, Chair – Recreation Committee
Term expires 2024
schlegel@catasauqua.org

Cameron Smith, Chair- Public Works Committee
Term Expires 2024  
csmith@catasauqua.org

Paul Cmil, Chair РPublic Utilities Committee 
Term Expires 2026
cmil@catasauqua.org

David Bernini, Chair – General Government Committee
Term Expires 2024
dbernini@catasauqua.org

Jill Smerdon, Chair – Planning & Zoning Committee
Term Expires 2026
jsmerdon@catasauqua.org