Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to footer

The Biery House

The building that houses 8 Race Street was built in 1826 by Frederick Biery.  His son Solomon ran the dwelling as an inn and was its proprietor. Solomon served as a postmaster from 1885-1861, operating the post office out of the tavern.  The building was purchased by GB Deily and passed onto his son GBF Deily and daughter, Mary Laubach iafter his death in 1902.  8 Race was a rental for much of the 1900s.  In 2002, 8 Race was purchased and restored by Ray Holland, a businessman and LV historian, then donated to the Historic Catasauqua Preservation Association.  It has been HCPA’s home since 2004.  

In 2004, HCPA opened their doors to the public as a Designer Showcase.  Each room was decorated by a different designer/design firm in the area, with the costs to do so generously supported by Catasauqua businesses.  Designs were created to highlight the historic character of the home.  The middle room of the downstairs features a beautiful mural spanning all four walls depicting Historic Catasauqua..
Currently, the front room and hallway display original art/paintings of historical properties in Catasauqua.

The Biery House at 8 Race Street may be rented for special occasions.  The two main rooms on the first floor can seat 50 guests.  A small functional kitchen off the historic kitchen provides limited food prep facilities (stove, refrigerator, sink, microwave, 4ft of counter space.